Slumber-dark, the room inhales, exhales,

with the shifting focus of my myopia,

to the breathing rhythm of your body-heap.

I scan the watching shadows

that see bland day-lit domestic detritus

turned to hood-cloaked guardians

of midnight’s unfamiliar realm.

I also watch.

The unblinking snake would envy

the piercing intent of my study

of your head’s side. Skin-lids shudder

as your eyes twitch and roll in pursuit

or retreat in the dreams racing

through your Tardis mind; that universe

of memories, lusts, imaginings, clustered

compactly inside that adored box of bone.

Peering at your ear,

I will myself tiny as the flea,

so to boldly journey

past embryo-curled exterior structure,

through the winding, narrowing dark

that leads perhaps,

towards the flickering kingdom

I could never dream to map.

~Polly Oliver (2017)

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Night Watch

Leave a Reply

